Contact Us
Contact us X

For immediate enquiries please call. Alternatively please leave your details and a short message below or fill out one of our enquiry forms. Our team will endeavour to respond as soon as possible.

The Challenge Cup

A new challenge for tomorrow's AEC design professionals

The Challenge Cup

The Challenge Cup; a team challenge designed to discover the next generation of young built environment design professionals that will help to propel the industry into an innovative future.

Each year select Universities are invited to participate in “The Challenge Cup”. With aspiring students from each University representing the Architectural, Engineering and other AEC design streams to form collaborative and cross disciplinary teams of between 4 to 6 students.

The prize

The Challenge Cup

Up to four winning teams will be announced at the prefabAUS 2021 Conference.

As well as first, second and third prizes, the Fleetwood industry award will be presented to the team who demonstrates the best use of offsite manufacturing and integration of architectural, engineering and construction-related disciplines.

First place $7,000
Second place $3,500
Third prize $2,500
Fleetwood industry award $2,000

The Challenge

The 2021 design challenge interrogates the proposition of adaptive reuse in the built environment, addressing not only sustainability and resource scarcity, but also how offsite manufacturing and prefabrication can deliver effective solutions to allow extension and adaption of existing buildings. A phenomena that is gaining renewed focus in light of the current spike in commercial property and hotel vacancies that are occurring in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Teams are asked to retain, incorporate and extend an existing structure into a mixed-use development comprising retail tenancy space, student accommodation and build-to-rent residential accommodation, using offsite construction and prefabrication solutions.

The Brief

Key Dates

The year ahead...

January (2021)

• Competition commencement
• Online Competition Q&A portal opens

February (2021)

• Portal opens for submissions

June (2021)

• University team registrations close


July (2021)

Competition submission deadline 4pm AEST

July (2021)

• Finalists announced